Lets face it Chocolate Chip cookies are a beautiful thing! Today I thought lets make chocolate chip cookies but, I felt like putting an unusual spin on this common cookie. The chocolate chip cookie has been around for over eighty four years. There are many versions for these cookies and most are garnered to be a tasty treat! I came across a recipe that caught my eye. What made me look twice at this recipe for chocolate chip cookies was some of the ingredients.  The cookies called for soy sauce, and marshmallows. I never would have thought to put soy sauce into cookies. However, this strange item took on a sweet flavour in each cookie.  Unlike other cookies, the instructions advised to mix the liquid ingredients together first. This made it easier to ensure that all the flour was mixed in well.  If I were to change one thing with the cookie it would be to place the marshmallows on top as opposed to mixing them in the batter. I found with my first batch the marshmallows melted to the cookie sheet before the cookies were finished cooking. This resulted in the cookies sticking to the sheet and broke. With my second batch I put the marshmallow on top and the cookie was evenly cooked with a golden marshmallow on top. All in all, these cookies were fantastic! They were super moist as well as gooey and the marshmallow on top made for a great treat in every bite. 

Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Spin:

Ingredients:
2 Large Eggs 
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract 
1 Teaspoon Soy Sauce 
1 1/4 Sticks of Butter 
1 Cup Packed Brown Sugar 
1/2 Cup White Sugar 
1 Teaspoon Salt 
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda 
2 1/4 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 Cup Chocolate Chips
Handfull of Mini Marshmallows 

1. Preheat oven 350 degrees 

2. In a bowl mix in all wet ingredients and mix together 

3. In a separate bowl mix all dry ingredients together.

4. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet.  Making sure to mix well. 

5. Add in chocolate chips and marshmallows (or add marshmallows separately on top of cookie)

6. Roll into small balls and place on greased cookie sheet for ten to twelve minutes. 

                                          



Leave a Reply.