January 24, 2014

Today I baked my first pie!! I was so excited! I thought for the first time I should stick to the classic apple pie. In the past I have heard many horror stories of burning pies and crusts that just have not worked out. Therefore, I wont lie I was a little on the nervous side however, I did it anyways and I am so proud of how it turned out. Firstly, I started with the assembly of the crust. I would recommend that you start with the crust as it has to be chilled for a minimum of thirty minutes. The directions instruct eight tablespoons of water you may think that is not enough however, it will be.  Kneed the dough and the heat of your hands will melt the butter binding the ingredients together.  Secondly, chilling the crust dough is a crucial step so please do not skip this.  Like us dough needs time to rest and chill, when the dough is firmer is makes it easier to roll out. Moving on to the filling... while the crust was chilling I started to assemble the filling. The filling was super easy to make I simply combined all the ingredients into a large bowl and mixed together.    There are many ways to design your crust including, the honeycomb pie crust, the traditional all over crust and shaped crusts. For the pie I made I decided to go with the common laced crust.  This looks kind of difficult but trust me it really is quite simple. Start by cutting out strips from your rolled out crust depending on how you would like to section the pie off lay the strips vertically. Next, lift up the first strip from either end and lay another strip of crust under it. Do this to every other strip and you will quickly see that it creates a laced pattern.  Now it is time to let the oven take over and cook the pie to a nice golden drown. Do not be scared to make a pie! If I can do it I believe anyone can! Just take your time with new recipes and you will be surprised with what you can accomplish!      
Try it yourself! 

Apple Pie

THE CRUST:
2 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour 
1 Teaspoon Salt
2 Tablespoon Sugar
2 Sticks (one cup) Unsalted Butter
8 Tablespoons Ice Water


THR FILLING:
8 Apples Cored and Peeled 
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
1 Teaspoon Cinnamon 


1. Prepare crust by mixing the: flour, salt, and sugar. With a cheese grantor grate the frozen butter into the flour mixture.  Next, add the water. Start with three or four tablespoons and work the dough. Then go ahead and add the rest until a firm consistency. Split dough into two balls one slightly larger than the other and chill for thirty minutes or even over night. 


2. While the crust is chilling now is a great time to assemble your filling. Start by cutting all the apples into thin slices.  Place apples in a large bowl and add brown sugar and cinnamon. And set aside. 


3.  Now to roll the crust. Flour your rolling surface and begin to roll. Your crust should be thick enough that it does not rip. next line your pie plate with the crust pinching the edges.  Then pour in the filling making sure it's evenly distributed.  Lastly, cover the filling with the smaller of the two balls of dough. This is where you can get creative and design you pie crust. 


4. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and let pie cook from forty five minutes to an hour. 





Jennifer
1/24/2014 02:07:24 pm

Oh Kathryn!! This looks phenomial! You inspired me to bake!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.