It is official...I am addicted to baking pie! In a previous post I had made my very first apple pie and it turned out surprisingly well. So I thought I would try to make another pie. I decided to make a peach pie. I baked it for my grandma she is the baker in the family. Therefore, I was a little bit nervous as she is a fantastic baker.  I can count on my grandma to give me an honest answer on how it tasted.  She said for my second pie it was delicious.  I love the almost custard texture that is created when baking a peach pie. I would have much rather used fresh peaches, however I did not have any at the time so I used frozen pieces instead. The crust recipe was a little bit different than the one for the apple pie. Although, I still took the extra time to grate the frozen butter instead of cutting it into chunks.  This just ensures that the crust will come out flakey and there will be no chunks of butter that will create holes in the crust. Just like the other crust place in fridge to chill for a half an hour to a full hour. Next, the filling very simply mix together in a large bowl: peaches, sugar, flour and lemon juice. I would highly recommend this pie it was delicious topped with whip cream made for a fantastic dessert. 

Peach Pie 
CRUST:
2 1/2 Cups Flour
3/4 Teaspoon Salt 
2/3 Cups Cold Unsalted Butter 
1/3 Cup Cold Lard 
1/2 Cups Cold Water 


FILLING:
6 Cups Sliced Pitted Firm Ripe Peaches (or Frozen Peaches)
2/3 Cups Sugar
1/4 Cups Flour
1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice 


1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees 


2. Mix flour, and salt together in a large bowl. 


3. With a cheese grater, grate in butter and add lard and add water


4. Time to get your hands dirty and kneed all ingredients together to make a dough. Separate dough into two balls and place in plastic wrap and let cool in freezer for a minimum of a half hour.


5. While the crust is chilling time to start with the filling. Simply add peaches, sugar, flour, and lemon juice and mix together. 


6. When crust has been chilled roll out into a circle to fit your pie plate. Pinching into a circle creating a pie bottom crust shape. 


7. Place peach filling into the pie plate with bottom crust. 


8. Roll out second ball of dough place over peach filling and pinch together the bottom and top crust.  Make sure to cut a few holes into the middle of the pie so the pie can breath. Sprinkle sugar over top to create a sweet crunch.


9. Place pie into the oven and immediately turn the oven down to 350 degrees  place pie on the middle rack and bake for thirty to fifty minutes or until golden brown



Leave a Reply.