Pistachio's are one of the many nuts that I love!! I had never baked with pistachios before so I thought I would try it out. However, there were not as many recipes as I had hoped for. On my search for recipes I stumbled across a Dark Chocolate, Pistachio & Smoked Sea Salt cookie.  I instantly was excited as I am always willing to try something new so I decided to bake a batch! Surprisingly, the cookies turned out delicious! The sea salt paired with the chocolate really gave that sweet and salty flavour.  I however, did make some changed to the recipe because I did not have all the ingredients needed. For example, instead of dark chocolate I substituted milk chocolate as well as, smoked salt I used regular corse sea salt.  These alterations did not change the flavour of the cookie drastically.  Try these cookies out they are amazing if you are wanting to give something new a try! 

Dark Chocolate, Pistachio & Smoked Sea Salt Cookies:

1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter (Room Temp)
1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar 
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar (Packed)
1 Large Egg 
1 Teaspoon Vanilla 
1 1/4 Cups Flour 
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda 
1/4 Teaspoon Salt 
1 1/2 Cups Chocolate Chip (Dark)
1 Cup Shelled Pistachios (Coarsely Chopped) 
Smoked Sea Salt (For Topping) 


1. Start by mixing together: butter, sugar, brown sugar until fluffy. Let sit for round five minutes. Slowly add in egg, and vanilla and mix for roughly a minute. This ensures that each ingredient is mixed in well.  


2. Next, incorporate flour, baking soda, and salt together. Add to previous mixture all at once. 


3. Now it is time to add in the chocolate chips and mix well then toss in the shelled pistachios. And make sure that everything in evenly mixed threw-out 


4. Roll into little balls and place on a greased cookie sheet. Topping the cookies with a few crystals of the smoked sea salt. 


5. Place in oven preheated to 300 degrees and bake for around 15-18 minutes. Let cook on cookie sheet then transfer over to cooking rack.   
Savanna
5/11/2014 06:49:42 am

These looks so yummy! I was going to make regular chocolate chip cookies, but I will makes these instead! Thanks!

Reply



Leave a Reply.