Carrot Cake!
Today I had a day off and decided it would be a perfect day to have a baking day.  I was sent a carrot cake recipe and decided to make it.  I am trying to bake things I have not baked before and carrot cake would be one of them.  Firstly, I made sure I had all the ingredients. I had all but one...oil, but do not fear you can substitute oil with butter. I began to make the batter which is a very simple basic batter.  As usual, I prefer to combine all my dry and wet ingredients separately. Sugar, flour, baking powder, and cinnamon in one bowl. Wet ingredients in another bowl carrot, raisins, and or walnuts. The recipes instructs to add raisins or walnuts, in the cake I made decided to add the cup of raisins as well as a handful of walnuts.  However, I must say the icing on the cake made it.  The light taste of cream cheese compliments the carrot, raisins and walnut flavour.  You can also make this cake into muffins just by putting the batter in muffin pans. This cake was fantastic! I would highly recommend you try this cake you will love it! 

Carrot Cake:
CAKE:
2 Cups Sugar 
2 Cups Flour 
2 Teaspoons Baking Soda 
1/2 Teaspoon Salt 
1 Cup Raisins or Chopped Walnuts 
3 Teaspoons Cinnamon 
4 Eggs 
1 1/4 Cup Oil 
3 Cups Grated Carrots          


ICING:
2 Tablespoon Butter
2 Teaspoon Vanilla 
1/3 Cup Cream Cheese 
1 3/4 Cup Icing Sugar 


1. Start with mixing all dry ingredients: sugar, flour, baking soda, salt and, cinnamon. 


2. In a separate bowl combine: rains, eggs, oil and carrots.


3. Slowly add wet ingredients to dry and mix with a mixer till combined.  


4. Place in oven preheated to 350 and bake for 45 minutes 


5. While cake is cooking, it is now time to prepare the icing. Simply mix soft butter in with, vanilla, soft cream cheese as well as icing sugar to make a thick consistently. 


                                            E N J O Y 




Leave a Reply.